is sponsored by

Welcome to the LADY BEARS LACROSSE CAMPS! We are committed to providing a strong, sound, and fun lacrosse experience based on the fundamentals and mechanics of the women’s game. Our camp will focus on drills that build and strengthen players at all levels. There will be a strong emphasis on stick work, offense and defense concepts, and team drills to help elevate the player’s game.

Due to field space and staffing, each camp will have a maximum number of players, so please register early!

FINAL SCORE: 12-8 vs. Cincinnati Sycamore
(2002, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2013, 2015)

From the Upper Arlington News:

Upper Arlington High School girls lacrosse coach Wendy Pinta does not consider her team’s two Division I state tournament games to be the prettiest contests the Golden Bears have played.

Whether she and her players care is another matter.

UA took advantage of strong midfield play in the state final against Cincinnati Sycamore on May 30 at Westerville Central, and Olivia Schildmeyer scored a game-high five goals to propel the Bears to a 12-8 victory and the program’s sixth state championship.

“We did a lot of things well, just (in terms of) handling pressure,” Pinta said. “It certainly wasn’t our best game. We needed to play the best midfield transition game we could and I do think we did that. We beat them in the midfield.

“From that aspect, we played one of the better games we have played.”

Anna Schildmeyer added two goals and goalkeeper Maureen Kleinhenz made eight saves for UA, which finished the season with 19 consecutive wins after a 0-2 start.

The Bears also won state championships in 2002, 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2013.

Evie Goodyear and Eva Thorn each scored three goals for Sycamore, which finished 17-4.

The Aviators had early leads of 1-0 and 2-1, but Olivia Schildmeyer scored three consecutive goals to break a 2-all tie late in the first half and added another score on a set play to make it 8-3 at halftime.

UA also won 13 of 19 draws with Stanford recruit Molly Plasket.

In a semifinal May 29 at Central, the Bears beat Medina 13-8.

See more photos


Welcome to the home of the Upper Arlington High School Girls' Lacrosse Team.

The Upper Arlington High School Girls' Lacrosse Program began in 1983 under the sponsorship of UAHS faculty member and Coach Pete Corey. Tom Stout then led the Bears for five seasons. In 1992, Wendy Pinta took the helm of the UA Girls' Lacrosse program for the next fifteen years and led them to three state championship titles. In 2008, Lynda McCandlish, a UAHS and Northwestern University graduate, assumed the head coach position. In her first and only season as head coach at Upper Arlington, Coach McCandlish won the state championship. Lynda McCandlish also made Ohio history by winning the state championship as both a UA player (2002) and as a head coach (2008). From 2009-2011, Kim Rocheleau headed the Golden Bears, taking them to the state finals in each of her three years as head coach.

In 2012, the Golden Bears saw two of its former coaches return to lead the team. Head Coach Wendy Pinta (1991-2007) returned from a 4-year hiatus to coach youth lacrosse at Hastings Middle School and Executive Head Coach Sue Stimmel (1989-90) returned after a 23-year leave to coach collegiate lacrosse at Denison and The Ohio State University. In their first season as head coaches they returned the Bears to the state finals. In their second year, they led the squad to their first state championship in five years. This year they return again and hope to lead the Bears to another state title!

In 1993, Upper Arlington player Ashley Burkart was the first-ever UAHS girl's lacrosse player to be named All-American. Since then, 23 other UAHS players have earned All-American distinctions, and many others have been honored with All-Ohio and All-League awards.

Home of the 2002, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2013, and 2015 State Champs
© 2007 - 2016 Upper Arlington Girls' Lacrosse   
This site is not sponsored by the Upper Arlington City School District.